Picture tells the story

I’m stretching myself technologically with this blog thing. Curiosity got the better of this cat and I’m forcing myself to jump in after thinking about it for way too long. This is a test, an experiment of sorts. Testing the waters of blogging as a venue for sharing my genealogy projects and discoveries. It is my hope that as I process these discoveries I will gain a new level of insight and understanding of the ties that bind families together across the generations . And if I’m lucky, I will uncover a skeleton or two along the way. They say dead men tell tales. I’m counting on that!

Now for the explanation of the family picture that serves as my header. My great-uncle Albert Link, my grandmother John Elsie Link (yes John—that was not a typo, another blog topic to come), and my great-uncle Lester Waite Link along with their parents Estelle Mae Snader and John Luther Link. I have an interesting family. Humor is the glue that holds us together. We laugh until we cry then we laugh some more. Then every time we rehash that story , we laugh and cry all over again. The humor draws us in and makes us members of a tight group. I don’t analyze this phenomenon, I experience it without really understanding it.

When I picked up this picture of my grandmother and her family, I experienced a revelation and in an instant I understood why Dad and his siblings related in that way and why my family bonds that way also. I see all of us in that picture—we are family still regardless of time and death. We are family. And we laugh and we live life to the fullest and we hang on to each other tightly, with love and we don’t let go because we are family. We also grab life by the tail and we enjoy the ride! Because when all has been said and done, we will have an awesome story to tell!

So the love and life in this old fading picture reflects the legacy left to us by the Links and the Snaders. They are kin and they might be dead but they live on where it counts.

About Cindy Jones Nicewarner

I’m on a personal mission to locate my kin, dead or alive—Whatever it takes, wherever it leads, I keep digging until I surface with those hidden golden genealogical gems. I get a thrill from busting through brick walls and mining mysteries. I live for this. Well that and documenting my sources, and keeping meticulous notes, and filing all of my discoveries. This is my thrilling exciting life of a professional genealogist--assembling clues in the never ending quest to discover the deeper profound meaning of our family relationships across the generations.
This entry was posted in Reflections on Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Picture tells the story

  1. Shirley Cruzen Stevens says:

    I have been trying to find the reason that there is the surname of Cruzen was chosen as a middle name for Adam Cruzen Link and also for a person born in about 1952, Daniel Cruzen Link. I am
    descended from Cornelius Kroesen/Cruzen and Hannah Sheeley that came to Ohio from Jefferson Co. VA in 1806 and lived near Harpers Ferry. The family has been here since 1660 arriving in New Amsterdam, now New York City.lPlease reply. Shirley Cruzen Stevens, Michigan

    • Shirley–I have never found an explanation for the use of Cruzen for Adam Cruzen Link. Adam’s parents were John Adam Link III and Sarah Osbourn. I am not aware of a connection to the Cruzen Family but there must be one somewhere. The Links, Hendricks and Osbourn families were residing in Jefferson County, Virginia at the same time as the Cruzen Family but more towards Shepherdstown.

    • cruzen1950 says:

      Hello Shirley,
      It has been a long time since I talked with you.
      How are you and your family?
      I would like to know about how to get your book.
      Oran Guy Cruzen, Jr.

  2. katherine bridges says:

    HI! I think there may be a mistake in the Funderburk Line. I have Guy FUnderburks books..but there seems to be something questionable-

    my lineage is from Hans Funderburk and Catherine Laney. (my grandmother was Ina Rose Funderburk. I am trying to find evidence that links Philip Wilhelm (Count of Palatine) and Elizabeth Amalie to their “daughter” Princess of Berg (Elizabeth Anna). As far as my research shows, Philip Wilhelm was married twice- his first wife had a stillborn. He then married Elizabeth Amalie, and the royal couple had 17 children, which included the Holy Roman Empress Eleonore Madeleine, Elector Palatine Johan Wilhelm, Elector Palatine Charles III Philip, Archbishop Francis Louis of Trier, Queen Maria Sophia of Portugal, and Queen Maria Anna of Spain.

    Surprisingly, Princess of Berg-our “royal” ancestor who married Adolph, is not on their list of 17 children. In fact, their last child was born the year before the mysterious birth of the Princess of Berg.

    Their documented children are:

    1) Eleonore Magdalene von Pfalz-Neuburg (1655-1720)

    2) Marie Adelheid von Pfalz-Neuburg (1656-1656)

    3) Sofie Elisabeth von Pfalz-Neuburg (1657-1658)

    4) Johann Wilhelm von der Pfalz (1658-1716)

    5) Wolfgang George Frederik von Pfalz-Neuburg (1659-1683)

    6) Ludwig Anton von Pfalz-Neuburg (1660-1694)

    7) Karl III. Philipp von der Pfalz (1661-1742) *** Ruler of Berg in 1716

    8) Alexander Sigismund von Pfalz-Neuburg (1663-1737)

    9) Franz Ludwig von Pfalz-Neuburg (1664-1732)

    10) Frederik Wilhelm von Pfalz-Neuburg (1665-1689)

    11) Marie Sofie von Pfalz-Neuburg (1666-1699)

    12) Marie Anna von Pfalz-Neuburg (1667-1740)

    13) Philipp Wilhelm August von Pfalz-Neuburg (1668-1693)

    14) Dorothea von Pfalz-Neuburg (1670-1748)

    15) Elisabeth von Pfalz-Neuburg (1673-1722)

    16) Johan von Pfalz-Neuburg (1675-1675)

    17) Leopoldine Eleonore von Pfalz-Neuburg (1679-1693)

    Furthermore, I noticed Hans’ headstone had a dedication to the royal family but it was not done until the 60s by Funderburks themselves.. Guy Funderburk has us linked to the Princess of Berg, in Castles and Conquests, but the Princess of Berg is not in any historical records and there are no photos or information which seems surreal considering how much info is out there on the other 17 children. Does anyone have any documentation that confirms this other than a book or public member tree that has been recreated and added by other Funderburk family members?

    What’s also unusual is that there is a story out there that says Prince Charles Philip, the brother of “Princess of Berg” felt threatened by her three sons, which ultimately forced them to flee on the Golden Beaver which wreck off the SC coast. Charles Philip III succeeded his brother, Johann Wilhem upon his death in 1716 (see above) and the only documentation of any sign of conflict was that Charles Philip expelled his brother’s mistress Dorothea von Velen from the electoral palace. Guy wrote that the mysterious Princess of Berg was a half sister, which would mean she would not have had the same parents of her “half brother” Charles Philipp.. Also, it doesn’t make sense that Charles Philipp would expel his half sisters sons because he could not have any sons of his own, then he wanted to unify the bond by having his daughter marry, and when they couldn’t have any sons, her husband (not even blood)’s brother’s nephew was next in line. This nephew was Charles Theodore, and he married Charles Philipp’s great granddaughter which unified it!

    please email me at krbridge@ncsu.edu

    I also found this:

    The Sulzbach line was related to the Palatinate-Neuburg line who were Electors Palatine. The Elector of the Palatinate Charles III Philip of the Palatinate-Neuburg line failed to produce a legitimate male heir, and his brothers also. By 1716, it was evident that the Palatinate-Neuburg line would become extinct and that the Sulzbach line would succeed them. Joseph Charles, the eldest son of the Count Palatine of Sulzbach, was the clear heir. In 1717 Joseph Charles married Countess Palatine Elizabeth Augusta Sophie of Neuburg, the daughter of Charles III Philip, a move which united the two lines and the sons of the union would become the indisputable heir of the Palatinate, preventing another succession war.

    However, the plans went awry. All the sons fathered by Joseph Charles and Elizabeth Augusta died in infancy, and only three daughters survived. In 1728, Elizabeth Augusta died in childbirth, and Joseph Charles died the following year in Oggersheim. Therefore, the inheritance of Palatinate-Sulzbach and the eventual inheritance passed to Joseph Charles’ brother John Christian Joseph and his family.

    None of this adds up or makes any sense. I am starting to doubt the validity of the royalty claim. I had thought all this time we were royalty, and did not really research it, but there is no evidence whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

