Being Connected in a Big World

Being connected is a part of my genetic make-up, part of my heritage and I hope a part of my legacy. Connecting and relating is like breathing. And although I expect to discover connections as I go about my life, I never cease to be amazed by the blessings they bring.

It’s a big world out there. For most of my life I have remained on the East Coast. Recently I have overcome my fear of flying and now hop on planes without a second thought, eager to get a window seat so I can take in all the scenery below. I thrill to the adventure of exploring new places, meeting new people and taking lots of pictures. I gather new facebook friends wherever I go.

Recently I traveled to Norman, Oklahoma where I was co-leader for a two-day genealogy workshop for the Oklahoma Daughters of the American Revolution. On the last day of the workshop I mentioned that I had just submitted a supplemental DAR application to establish a new patriot, my ancestor William Fundenburg of Frederick County, Maryland. During the break one of the attendees, a Funderburk from Texas, greeted me by saying she had visited the Schloss Burg Castle in Germany—ancestral home of my Fundenburg ancestors and that her husband is a cousin. Next a new Oklahoma friend exclaimed that she is also a Funderburk descendant. When announcing to the class that the three of us had just discovered our connection, another Oklahoma Daughter jumped up and exclaimed that she too is a Funderburk cousin! So we did the next logical thing—we embraced and had a picture taken!

The first two cousins descend from Devauld Funderburk who survived a ship wreck off the coast of South Carolina. The third descends from Henry Funderburk, nephews of my Walter Funderburg. All three men left their homeland for America. Our common ancestor was my Walter’s father Adolph Von Der Burg and his wife Princess Elizabeth of Berg whose line of descent can be traced back to Adolph I von der Berg 1078-1152, the builder of Schloss-Burg. His wife was Adelheid, daughter of Count Dietrich of Cleve. I’m not kidding. Look it up in Guy B. Funderburk, Funderburk Castles and Conquests, 1975, pp 19-27. A princess, a count and a castle in my family tree—a heritage I share with three cousins I met in the Heartland at a DAR genealogy workshop! And to think it only took us 10 generations to reconnect!

About Cindy Jones Nicewarner

I’m on a personal mission to locate my kin, dead or alive—Whatever it takes, wherever it leads, I keep digging until I surface with those hidden golden genealogical gems. I get a thrill from busting through brick walls and mining mysteries. I live for this. Well that and documenting my sources, and keeping meticulous notes, and filing all of my discoveries. This is my thrilling exciting life of a professional genealogist--assembling clues in the never ending quest to discover the deeper profound meaning of our family relationships across the generations.
This entry was posted in A New Discovery, Places We've Been and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being Connected in a Big World

  1. Mika Garnett says:

    Hi,
    My name is Mika and my cousin’s son has done some research my mother’s side of the family and found out that my grandfather Cecil Raymond Young’s grandmother was Louisa Funderburk. Before that I didn’t even realize that we were part German or that our ancestor was Adolph von der Burg. I wonder if we could be related?

  2. Mika Garnett says:

    I think our family comes from Johan’s line…….

  3. Caitlin says:

    Hi,

    I also descend from Devauld’s line. My grandmother’s last name was Funderburk, and her father’s name was Elvis. I think his father was William Laney. It wasn’t until my mother’s passing that I became interested in our history, but it’s good to know there are others out there who are, too!

  4. Catie Vargas says:

    I come from Walters side. My great I do not know how many backs was Daniel who happens to be Walters son.

  5. Jennifer(Patterson) Baughman says:

    I am also tracing my Funderburk line…my GG Grandmother was Julia Pemalia Funderburk and married Baxter Davis Patterson…her father was Daniel Homan Funderburk..his father was Daniel J Funderburk..his father was George W Funderburk..his father was Hans Devauld Funderburk..his father was Johann(John) Michael Vonderburg and his father was Adolf Von Der Berg…but so far this is all I have but would like more “proof” If anyone can help that would be awesome 🙂

  6. Marion Funderburk says:

    I am from Devald’s line. My maiden name is Funderburk but now I have been predestined to someone with a coat of arms as well =) . My grandfather worked with our relative Guy on the book and is doing edits for more current family tree. I have our coat of arms for this side. I know there is a lot but i have never met or talked to outside my direct family. It is so wonderful to know! Have any of you been to the castle? I have seen pics but never been

Leave a Reply

